About the campaign|Review messages|Articles|Spread the word

 

Christian Children's Fund

Client:

Christian Children's Fund

Summary:

This charity uses television commercials and informercials to urge viewers to sign up and sponsor a child by pledging money to support needy children in developing countries.

Total reviews: 44

Total comments: 10

whatever.

it's uncomfortable, and I've yet to meet someone who has not actually flipped the channel because of it. Nevermind my adverse feelings towards “charity.” Its our responsibility to help one another.

Posted by: letumubique99 on October 24th, 2008.

re: christianity and charity

not that I'm christian, but I do know that one of the tenets of christianity is charity, right? so I'm pretty sure that they're giving is not based on religious requirements of the recipients. However, it can certainly be that way at the grassroots level; who knows what or how the agency operates on the ground?

Posted by: avisualperson on November 3rd, 2006.

you have it backwards

ali speculates that they only help christian children.

no, their goal is to make the children christian in exchange for the help. i have seriously mixed feelings about organizations like this.

"i'd like a bowl of millet please."

"it comes with a side of jesus, and a big helping of indoctrination. enjoy!"

Posted by: gravitycollapse on November 2nd, 2006.

for a good cause

according to charitynavigator.com, Christian Children's fund is a 3-star charity, which is pretty good (4 stars is the best). since that's the case, i say sure, why not? I've been motivated to give money by ads like these before and it's for a good cause.

incidentally, I take the name to mean that it's a Christian organization that supports children, and not just Christian children.

Posted by: ali on October 25th, 2006.

oh the guilt, the guilt.

i think this commercial exploits the situation this children face on an every day basis, to shower us with guilt so we can donate money to ...??
who is getting this money? is it really being used to help this poor souls, victims of today's social structure?
i just dont think that guilt and feelings of despair are the best tool tp promote a solution to a problem.

Posted by: monoalex81 on October 25th, 2006.

Intriguing, The Demographic Target

I think overall these commercials get their message across. However, I'm a bit peeved that this charity seems to only benefit Christian children. I would rather them target all of the disheveled youths of this world rather than just a subset, a single religion. It indirectly plays on our cultural arrogancy against Eastern religions.

Posted by: jswindle on October 24th, 2006.

perfect.

this is the kind of piece that makes after these messages interesting. on the one hand you have beautiful hummer spots that crush the planet. then, you have this piece of shit ad that crushes your heart.

hopefully we get better at making creative pieces for good causes.

-A

Posted by: euroskip on October 21st, 2006.

Call to Action

Shame on me. This commercial makes me feel like a white devil for eating dinner.

Shaming you and me for all of the world's problems, I think, is what makes us generally apathetic to messages like this. It's an overwhelming call to action to help every child in every developing nation overcome every disadvantage.

Posted by: KennyRood on October 21st, 2006.

get over it.

Lets move on, but it still work.

Posted by: cubes on October 20th, 2006.

the heart tug card

It's been done before, but it's done effectively.

Posted by: architekality on October 20th, 2006.